Michigan is a fishing paradise. Lakes, rivers, woods, places for organized camping, boats for rent, captains who will take you fishing for the huge Muskie pike in November or spring trout fishing- all that the soul may desire. Wherever you are in Michigan, fishing is not more than half an hour away from you.
How to buy a fishing license in Michigan?
If you are fishing in Michigan, you must purchase a fishing license if you are 17 years old or older. In order to buy a license, you should provide one the following documents:
- A valid Michigan driving license
- A valid Michigan ID card
- An official DNR Sportcard if all the information mentioned there is still correct
- You will also have to submit a document proving your residential address
But even with the license you need to be aware of what kind of fish you can catch, when and what size. For example, the most popular Largemouth Bass can be caught from the end of May to December, but any fish less than 14 inches should be released back. The representatives of the official authorities can check you at any time, and in case of a violation, you will not avoid the fine. Brochures for fishing rules are available at any sports shop for free.
Michigan fishing license cost.
They are sold at any sports store. The state offers different types of licenses and you can choose from the following options:
- Resident permit
- Non-residents permit
- Short-term permit
- Annual permit
- Species-specific permit
- Combination permit
How much is a fishing license in Michigan?
- Residential Annual: 26 USD
- Nonresidential Annual: 76 USD
- Senior Annual (people over 65 years old): 11USD
- 24-hour (irrespective of residency): 10USD
- 72- hour (irrespective of residency):10USD
Children under 17 are allowed to fish for free, but they must also adhere to fishing rules and regulations.
Michigan DNR fishing license
The Michigan DNR (Department of Natural Resources) has introduced an electronic license which allows an individual to display an electronic copy of his fishing permit using an electronic device.
You can obtain a fishing license choosing from the following options:
- Online on DNR official site
- At a DNR license agent (you find the list on the official site)
- At a DNR customer service office
Michigan fishing license 2020.
You should remember that Michigan fishing permit 2019 is expiring on the 31st of March, 2020. The current season will start on the 1st of April and will continue till the 31st of March of the next year.
The state allows some categories of people without a fishing license:
- Residents serving in the Armed Forces
- Veterans and disabled people
- Blind people
- Elderly people
Everyone can enjoy Free Fishing weekend, which is June 9-10, without any limitations.
State fishing rules and regulations are created to help preserve satisfactory fish populations in state waters. Fishing restrictions may sometimes change throughout the year, so it is important to recheck regulation updates before your trip.
Walmart Fishing License Michigan
Obtaining your Walmart fishing license Mi is also another easy alternative. Simply go to your nearest Walmart store and you can purchase a Walmart fishing license. Walmart fishing license cost and Walmart fishing license hours should also be checked at your nearby store.