Before you go fishing in any part of Wisconsin, you will need to ensure that you have more than just your rods, hooks, line and sinkers loaded in your vehicle. You will also need to ensure that you are in possession of a fishing license that is valid in this state. Read on to find out more about obtaining a Wisconsin fishing license as quickly and conveniently as possible.
Purchase Online or at a Physical Location
Although it may still be possible to purchase your Wisconsin fishing license at a large number of physical store locations throughout the state, the option of downloading your license and storing it on your mobile device is being encouraged more and more. This not only saves a substantial amount of paper; it can cut the costs of processing licenses substantially at some point in the future. When you purchase your license online, you will need to keep in mind that it can take anywhere between 7 and 10 days for your license to reach you in the mail. However, in most cases, you will be provided with a reference number or proof of license or registration that can be used until such time as your license arrives.
When purchasing a fishing license, many people choose to perform the transaction at their local Walmart. For more information about obtaining your permit to fish at Walmart, click here.
Why you need to Purchase a Wisconsin Fishing License
Many people are under the impression that the introduction of the Wisconsin fishing license system is merely another way for the state to generate additional revenue. However, this is not the case. When you do the right thing by purchasing a fishing license, the money you pay goes towards protecting the fish and other water life for generations to come. In addition, funds garnered from the licenses are put towards habitat development, fishery management, conservation education and promoting endangered species programs. As a result, it is considered more of a contribution than an actual fee.
Who Needs a License?
Anyone who is over the age of 16 years will be required to purchase a Wisconsin fishing license. However, there may be cases where mentally challenged or disabled persons, veterans, people over the age of 66 and active members of the military may not be required to purchase a license. It’s essential that each person makes their own inquiries in this regard though, as all cases are treated individually. When purchasing your fishing license, it’s essential to keep in mind that it will be valid from 1 April to 31 March of the following year. As a result, it is strongly recommended that you purchase it as soon as possible after 1 April each year.
The cost of your Wisconsin fishing license will vary according to the length of time it is valid for – a 1 day license for instance will cost less than an annual license. Annual licenses are usually the best value for money options though. Once you have purchased your fishing license, it’s important to ensure that you follow all of the rules and regulations that are associated with it. Failure to do so could result in you receiving a heavy fine.