When going fishing, you will be joining the ranks of thousands of other people throughout the state who enjoy this pastime. Regardless of where you choose to go fishing in the state though, you will need to ensure that you are in possession of a valid Texas fishing license at all times. This will guarantee that you don’t fall foul of the law with regards to fishing without a permit.
One Free Fishing Day Per Year
The only day of the year that residents in this state will not require a Texas fishing license to go fishing or collect mussels, crabs or other forms of seafood is on the first Saturday of the month of June. Mentally disables persons who are engaging in fishing as part of their regular therapy will also not need to purchase a Texas fishing license at any time, provided that they are in possession of the appropriate authorization from their health care provider. Anyone who is under the age of 17 years old will also not be required to purchase a Texas fishing license.
Various License Options Available
Before you purchase your Texas fishing license, it’s important to be aware that there are different license options available. Some of the most popular options in this regard include a resident, special resident, senior resident or non-resident fishing license and these are deemed valid from their date of sale until 31 August of the following year.
A Senior Resident Texas fishing license package is made available to any Texas resident who is over the age of 65 years and it includes the fishing permit and either a saltwater endorsement with a red drum tag, freshwater endorsement or both option, depending on the package chosen. Texas residents who are legally deemed to be blind can obtain a Special Resident All-Water Fishing License. A One-Day All-Water Texas Fishing License consists of a resident or non-resident fishing permit that is valid for the days chosen when purchased.
When purchasing a fishing license, many people choose to perform the transaction at their local Walmart. For more information about obtaining your permit to fish at Walmart, click here.
Texas Fishing License Costs
The cost of a Texas fishing license will depend on the type of license purchased and the length of time that it will be valid for. For example, a regular freshwater license will cost $30, while an all-water package will cost $40. Persons over the age of 65 will pay substantially less than this ($12 and $22 respectively). Purchasing a one-day all-water license will cost just $11. The cost of a Texas fishing license will be a little higher for non-residents though, with a freshwater package costing $58, a saltwater package $63, and all-water package $68 and a one-day all-water license costing $16.
Once you have purchased your Texas fishing license, you will be able to enjoy partaking in this pastime with a clear conscience, knowing that you’re doing your bit to preserve the environment as much as possible. It’s important to remember that you will need to be in possession of your fishing license at any time that you are actively out fishing.