One of the best ways for friends and family to spend time together is by getting their gear together and going fishing. However, in addition to loading up their rods, hooks, reels, line, sinkers and bait, they will need to ensure that they have purchased their Missouri fishing license ahead of time. It is the law for most people to be in possession of a license before going fishing, regardless of where they fish or the type of fishing they will be doing.
Different Types of Missouri Fishing Licenses Available
When applying for your fishing license in this state, it’s important to be aware that there are different types of permits available, so you will need to ensure that you purchase the correct one. The most common one is the regular fishing permit, along with the daily fishing permit. In addition to these, a trout permit, daily trout fishing tag, a small game hunting and fishing permit and White River border lakes permit are available. Residents of the state can also choose to purchase a military reduced cost permit, a lifetime fishing permit or a lifetime conservation partner permit.
Exemptions when Purchasing a License
If you are a land owner in the state and have a water body on it, you are permitted to fish there without a permit. In cases where you are renting property, you may also be exempt from purchasing a Missouri fishing permit. All Missouri residents who are under the age of 15 or over the age of 65 years old will not need to be in possession of a permit either. Other persons who are exempt from having to pay for a Missouri fishing license include most active military members and veterans and residents of the state who have been diagnosed with various severe health conditions.
Determining the Cost of a Missouri Fishing License
Not everyone will pay the same price for their license. For example, if you purchase a temporary (1 or 3 day) permit, you will pay less than someone who is purchasing an annual or lifetime fishing license. If you aren’t sure how much your license is going to cost, it’s a good idea to make contact with the Department of Conservation. One of their representatives will be more than willing to assist you and ensure that you are provided with the correct license. In the event that you request a printed license in the mail, you will need to wait between 7 and 10 days for it to arrive. However, most people find it convenient enough to print their licenses online after they have paid.
If you are unsure of any limits or regulations pertaining to your particular Missouri fishing license, it’s recommended that you make contact with your local Department of Conservation before going fishing. This will help ensure that you do not receive a fine for being in possession of fish or other forms of water species that you are not licensed to catch.
When purchasing a fishing license, many people choose to perform the transaction at their local Walmart. For more information about obtaining your permit to fish at Walmart, click here.
A Missouri fishing license is needed to go fishing in Missouri.