Before going fishing, it’s essential to ensure that you have all of the right equipment and items on hand, and this means a little more than just your rods, line, hooks, sinkers and bait – you will need to be in possession of a valid Mississippi fishing license before you even think about casting your line. However, obtaining one of these licenses has become easier and more convenient than ever before.
Various Ways to Purchase a Mississippi Fishing License
Over the past few years, one of the most popular options that have been used to purchase a Mississippi fishing license is online through the state department’s website. Although you may be required to create an account to process your purchase this way, it is relatively quick and easy to do this. Once you have created your account, you will need to provide credit card details and some form of identification, either in the form of a Social Security number, driver’s license, military ID card or student ID card. You will also be required to provide credit card details in order to complete the purchase, as no other forms of payment will be accepted.
Another option that can be used to obtain a Mississippi fishing license is directly from an external retailer such as some of the larger department stores (Walmart and some Sears’s branches), sporting goods stores or the bait and tackle stores located throughout the state. When purchasing from one of these vendors though, it’s important to keep in mind that they may sometimes charge a small additional processing fee to cover the costs of providing you with your fishing license.
When purchasing a fishing license, many people choose to perform the transaction at their local Walmart. For more information about obtaining your permit to fish at Walmart, click here.
How long is a Mississippi Fishing License Valid For?
When you purchase an annual fishing license, it will usually be valid for the time period of 1 full year. However, if you decide to purchase a 24 hour or 3 day fishing license instead, it will only be valid for the amount of time specified on the license. State residents also have the option of purchasing a lifetime fishing license, which will be valid for the rest of their lives.
Average Cost of a Fishing License
Before you purchase your Mississippi fishing license, you will need to be aware that the different licenses carry different price tags. For instance, a 1 day or 3 day license will be somewhat cheaper than an annual license. The initial cost of a lifetime license may sound excessively high, but if you intend fishing regularly, it will end up costing you far less to pay this amount than to renew your license each year. If you aren’t sure which license will be right for you, it’s recommended that you speak with your local conservation or wildlife department – they will be able to explain the different types of licenses to you.
After obtaining your Mississippi fishing license, it’s important that you follow all rules and regulations pertaining to fishing in your area. This will prevent you from being fined for being in possession of the incorrect types of fish or water life.