Get a Maryland Fishing License

Fishing is by far one of the most popular ways for people to spend their time in Maryland. However, many of them still aren’t aware of the fact that they need to purchase a Maryland fishing license before they place their first piece of bait on their hooks. It is compulsory for anyone who wants to engage in any form of fishing in the state to be in possession of a valid fishing license at any time that they will be engaging in this pastime.

Obtaining your Maryland Fishing License

The good news for anglers and recreational fisherman in Maryland is that they are able to purchase their fishing licenses online, or if they prefer, at a physical store location. These can include most sporting goods stores and/or bait and tackle stores. However, most people prefer to perform the purchase transaction online because it is far quicker and more convenient to do so. When purchasing your Maryland fishing license online, you will have the added advantage of being able to print it out immediately – instead of having to wait the standard 7 to 10 days for it to be sent to you in the mail.

When purchasing a fishing license, many people choose to perform the transaction at their local Walmart. For more information about obtaining your permit to fish at Walmart, click here.

Cost of a Maryland Fishing License

The cost of your Maryland fishing license will vary depending on the type of permit you purchase. For example, a 1 day or 3 day permit will cost a little less than an annual permit. Pensioners, disabled persons and some active members of the military may be exempt from having to purchase licenses. However, they will need to contact their local authorities to determine whether they will qualify for an exemption or not. Anyone who is under the age of 16 years old will also not need to be in possession of a fishing license. You will also not need to be in possession of a Maryland fishing license of you are only going to be fishing on the 3 annual free fishing days that are made available each year, namely the first 2 Saturdays in June and 4 July each year.

Documents Needed to Purchase your License

In most cases, you will need to provide some form of identification when purchasing a Maryland fishing license. This will help authorities determine your age and whether you could be exempt from having to purchase one. You may also need to provide your Social Security Number at the time of purchase. However, this will only be used to process the transaction. You will normally also be requested to provide proof of address to prove that you live within state boundaries. If you reside outside Maryland, your costs for a license will be different to those charged to residents.

After purchasing your Maryland fishing license, you will need to ensure that you follow the rules and regulations pertaining to the amounts of fish you are allowed to catch as well as the types of fish you are allowed to catch. Failure to do so will result in you being fined by the appropriate authorities.