Fishing is by far one of the most popular pastimes in the world – and the state of Colorado is certainly no exception to this rule, with thousands of people engaging in the activity each year. While it may seem easy to just pack your rods, hooks and bait and hop in the car to go fishing, you will need to purchase a Colorado fishing license ahead of time to prevent yourself from being fined by the authorities.
An Affordable Form of Recreation
One of the main reasons why so many people enjoy going fishing with their friends or a family member is because it is one of the more affordable forms of recreation that are available. In most cases, the only items you will need to set off for a day’s fishing will be your rods, hooks, line, sinkers and bait (unless you prefer to dig for a few worms at your favorite fishing hole instead) – and of course, your Colorado fishing license. Once you have all of this in your possession, you will be able to set off and enjoy yourself.
Average Cost of a Colorado Fishing License
When purchasing a Colorado fishing license, you will need to specify who will be using it because the cost will vary accordingly. For example, an annual fishing license for anyone who is 16 or older will cost $26 for state residents, while whose who are not Colorado residents will pay a whopping $56 for the same license. 5 day fishing permits are only available for purchase by non-Colorado residents and anyone who is over the age of 64 years will be able to obtain their fishing license at the heavily discounted rate of just $1. Obtaining a 1 day Colorado fishing license will cost $9 for residents as well as non-residents.
Purchasing your License
These days, it is far more convenient to purchase your Colorado fishing license over the phone or even online. However, it may still be possible to purchase them at various store locations if preferred. When purchasing your license online or over the phone, it’s important to remember that you will need to wait for up to 10 days before you receive your license in the mail. As a result, you will need to plan your next fishing trip accordingly to ensure that you have the necessary permit before casting out. in some cases, though, it may be possible to obtain a temporary license number that can be used until such time as your Colorado fishing license arrives in the mail.
Although it may seem like an unnecessary and tiresome chore to have to obtain a Colorado fishing license, these documents are deemed to be an essential part of the fish and wildlife conservation process around the country. With regards to fishing licenses for minors (under the age of 16), these will have to obtained in cases where they will be fishing without the presence of an adult who is in possession of a valid fishing permit.
When purchasing a fishing license, many people choose to perform the transaction at their local Walmart. For more information about obtaining your permit to fish at Walmart, click here.